Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

FOOTBALL LEAGUE AWARDS: Mitre Goal of the Year

19 January 2015

Help us to choose our Goal of the Year from 2014

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2014 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2014 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

We want our fans to help us decide our club nomination by sending us an email, with their suggestion, to - we need your initial nomination by 5pm on Monday 26 January 2015.

We will then put clips of the top three nominations on our official YouTube channel and a final vote will take place. 

As stated above, your initial nomination must be received by close of play next Monday [26 Jan]. 

The video vote, including the top three nominations, will follow from 9am on Wednesday 28 January 2015.

Send your nomination NOW to

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2015 – the 10th anniversary of the event.  A judging panel will review the goals with the top 10 being shown on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM in March.  Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 19th April 2015.

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block