Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

EFL: United shortlisted for prestigious award

27 March 2017

Carlisle United up for Family Club of the Year award

The shortlists for the 2017 EFL Awards have been revealed as clubs, players and fans come together to recognise the stars of 2016/17 across all three divisions and 14 different categories.

And Carlisle United have been nominated for the prestigious Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year award [League Two], alongside Stevenage, as recognition for the excellent community work done, particularly with the younger generation, both by our Community Sports Trust and through activities instigated by the club.

The best of the EFL will be honoured, with awards for players, managers and supporters, as well as worthy recognition of some of the great work being undertaken by clubs and the Trusts in communities up and down the country.

In one of the flagship categories, Leeds United’s talisman Chris Wood is one of three players shortlisted for the hotly contested Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season; the striker has been a formidable force this season and currently tops the goal scoring chart with 22 league goals.

Newcastle United’s Dwight Gayle is only one goal behind Wood on 21 as the talented striker looks to help the Magpies secure promotion straight back to the Premier League. Brighton and Hove Albion’s Anthony Knockaert has been influential in the Seagulls’ promotion chase with his skill and trickery, the Frenchman is also the division’s highest scoring midfielder with 13 league goals.

After spending the majority of the season at the top of League One it is not a surprise that Sheffield United have two players in contention for League One Player of the Season. Prolific forward Billy Sharp has been unstoppable with an impressive 26 league goals whilst teammate John Fleck has been a solid ever-present for the Blades - the Scottish midfielder holds the highest number of assists in the division. Scunthorpe United’s Josh Morris makes up the three shortlisted League One players with the 25 year old scoring a notable 19 goals from midfield.

The Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season shortlist includes two players from table topping Doncaster Rovers, club stalwart James Coppinger and striker John Marquis who has found the net 23 times already this season. Luton Town’s Danny Hylton makes up the shortlist, the 28 year old forward an instrumental figure in the Hatters’ push for the play offs.

It is a competitive line up for the Young Player of the Year with Reading’s John Swift, Oxford United’s Ryan Ledson and Exeter City’s Ollie Watkins hoping to join an illustrious list of previous winners including Gareth Bale, Nathaniel Clyne and Dele Alli.

Off the pitch Blackburn Rovers, Brighton & Hove Albion, Millwall, MK Dons, Carlisle United and Stevenage will be hoping to take home the Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year award, whilst the overall winner of Checkatrade Community Club of the Year and Supporter of the Year will also be crowned.

Judged by panels of leading experts from the football and media industry, the most prestigious accolade of the night is the Contribution to League Football Award which recognises long-standing and exceptional service to The League. The late Jimmy Hill, Peter Shilton and Jimmy Armfield have all previously been recognised for their contribution.

Shaun Harvey, EFL Chief Executive, said: "It’s been an exciting and action-packed 12 months for the EFL both on and off the pitch. There have been some incredible individual and team performances across the three divisions, entertaining the millions of fans who follow the EFL week in, week out.

“Off the pitch our clubs continue to have a positive and lasting impact in their local communities, using the power of football to deliver life-changing programmes and activities.
“The EFL Awards are a fantastic way to recognise the achievements of clubs, players, back room staff and fans and I would like to personally congratulate everyone who has been nominated and wish them all the best on the night itself.”

The annual awards take place in London on Sunday 9 April. For more details, visit:


Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season:
Chris Wood – Leeds United
Dwight Gayle – Newcastle United
Anthony Knockaert – Brighton & Hove Albion

Sky Bet League One Player of the Season
Billy Sharp – Sheffield United
Josh Morris – Scunthorpe United
John Fleck – Sheffield United

Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season
John Marquis – Doncaster Rovers
James Coppinger – Doncaster Rovers
Danny Hylton – Luton Town

EFL Young Player of the Season
John Swift – Reading
Ryan Ledson – Oxford United
Ollie Watkins – Exeter City

Football Manager Team of the Season
To be revealed on the night.

Sir Tom Finney and Contribution to League Football Awards
To be announced on the night

PFA Player in the Community
Liam Rosenior – Brighton & Hove Albion
Andy Butler – Doncaster Rovers
Christian Burgess – Portsmouth

EFL Supporter of the Year
Pav Samra – Derby County
Zoe Edge – Chesterfield
Paul Mayfield – Doncaster Rovers

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year – Championship
Blackburn Rovers
Brighton & Hove Albion

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year – League One
MK Dons

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year – League Two
Carlisle United

Checkatrade Community Club of the Year
North West – Wigan Athletic
North East & Yorkshire – Rotherham United
Midlands – Burton Albion
London – Fulham
South East – Brighton & Hove Albion
South West & Wales – Portsmouth

LFE Apprentice of the Year – Championship
Ben Brereton – Nottingham Forest
Lloyd Kelly – Bristol City
George Hirst – Sheffield Wednesday

LFE Apprentice of the Year – League One
Lewis Butroid – Scunthorpe United
Matthew Gillam – Rochdale
Callum Cockerill-Mollett – Walsall

LFE Apprentice of the Year – League Two
Myles Judd – Leyton Orient
Alex Fletcher – Plymouth Argyle
Leon Davies – Cambridge United

Mitre Goal of the Year

Adam HammillBarnsley29 May v Millwall
Darren BentDerby County5 Nov v Wolves
Wes HoolahanNorwich City15 Oct v Rotherham United
Lee TomlinBristol City30 Apr v Huddersfield Town
Fabio Da SilvaCardiff City23 Feb v Middlesbrough
Steve SidwellBrighton & Hove Albion5 Nov v Bristol City
Ricky HolmesNorthampton Town13 Feb v Leyton Orient
Nathan ThomasHartlepool United1 Oct v Grimsby Town
Michael Doyle Portsmouth8 Mar v Accrington Stanley
Stephen O'DonnellLuton Town13 Aug v Yeovil Town

Voting closes 28th March - click HERE to vote. 

The top 5 goals will be revealed on the night of the Awards with the audience voting for the overall winner.

Advertisement block