Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

CHECKATRADE TROPHY: Group details confirmed

United in Group A for this season's competition

7 July 2017

The 16 Groups for the 2017/18 Checkatrade Trophy have been revealed for all 48 League One and League Two Clubs.

The Groups, which are split into Northern and Southern sections, each currently contain three EFL Clubs with a fourth to be added on Wednesday 12 July when the 16 invited Under 21 teams are drawn.

EFL Clubs have been placed into their respective Groups in order to minimise overall travel for EFL clubs and fans following feedback from Clubs. This process will be reviewed at the end of the season.

The Group stage fixtures will also be confirmed next Wednesday, with invited under 21 teams to play all Group games away from home.

The Groups are as follows:

Northern Groups

Group A
Carlisle United
Fleetwood Town
Category 1 Club

Group B
Accrington Stanley
Wigan Athletic
Category 1 Club

Group C
Blackburn Rovers
Category 1 Club

Group D
Crewe Alexandra
Oldham Athletic
Port Vale
Category 1 Club

Group E
Coventry City
Shrewsbury Town
Category 1 Club

Group F
Bradford City
Rotherham United
Category 1 Club

Group G
Lincoln City
Mansfield Town
Notts County
Category 1 Club

Group H
Doncaster Rovers
Grimsby Town
Scunthorpe United
Category 1 Club


Northern Category 1 Clubs

1 Everton
2 Leicester City
3 Manchester City
4 Middlesbrough
5 Newcastle United
6 Stoke City
7 Sunderland
8 West Bromwich Albion

Advertisement block