Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

CARABAO CUP: Second round draw details

United ball number 18 in tonight's draw

10 August 2017

Tonight’s Carabao Cup Round Two draw will take place on Sky Sports News from 10pm.

The draw, which remains seeded and unseeded, has been regionalised to avoid a fixture scheduling complication involving West Ham United and Newport County, who have both been given special dispensation by the EFL Board to play their Round Two ties away from their home grounds.

Newport County have been placed in the Northern half of the draw to ensure there is no chance of the two teams being drawn together.
The regional groups and draw numbers are as follows:

South Seeds North Seeds
1. AFC Bournemouth 1. Aston Villa
2. Brentford 2. Burnley
3. Brighton & Hove Albion 3. Derby County / Grimsby Town 
4. Cardiff City 4. Huddersfield Town
5. Crystal Palace 5. Hull City
6. Fulham 6. Leeds United
7. Norwich City 7. Leicester City
8. Reading 8. Middlesbrough
9. Southampton 9. Newcastle United
10. Swansea City 10. Sheffield Wednesday
11. Watford 11. Stoke City
12. West Ham United 12. West Bromwich Albion 
  13. Sunderland / Barnsley *
South Non - Seeds North Non - Seeds
13. Barnet 14. Bury / Barnsley*
14. Birmingham City 15. Accrington Stanley
15. Bristol City 16. Blackburn Rovers
16. Bristol Rovers 17. Bolton Wanderers
17. Burton Albion 18. Carlisle United
18. Charlton Athletic 19. Doncaster Rovers
19. Cheltenham Town 20. Newport County
20. Ipswich Town 21. Nottingham Forest
21. Millwall 22. Rochdale
22. Milton Keynes Dons 23. Rotherham United
23. Queens Park Rangers 24. Scunthorpe United
24. Wolverhampton Wanderers 25. Sheffield United
  26. Wigan Athletic

* In the event Sunderland overcome Bury this evening at the Energy Check Stadium at Gigg Lane, Barnsley will drop into the unseeded pot.  If there is a home win then the Oakwell Club will be seeded at ball number 13 in the Northern draw and Bury will be ball 14.
In addition, the winners of the outstanding fixture between Grimsby Town and Derby County (rearranged to be played on August 22) will be ball 3 in the North seeded pot.  This is because Derby County would have been a seeded team if they had won Tuesday’s night’s abandoned game based on last season’s final league position.
Meanwhile, the EFL have today confirmed that the Round Three draw, in conjunction with cup sponsors Carabao, will take place in Beijing, China on August 24, 2017.  Full details to be announced in due course.

Advertisement block