Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

PFA: Winger Nicky Adams named in League Two Team of the Year

20 April 2017

Club News

PFA: Winger Nicky Adams named in League Two Team of the Year

20 April 2017

Nicky Adams in PFA League Two Team of Year

The PFA Divisional Teams of the Year have been announced ahead of the 44th PFA Awards to be held in the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday 23 April 2017.

PFA Members from 100 clubs (Premier League, Football League and WSL) have been voting and the PFA Divisional League Two Team of the Year includes popular United winger Nicky Adams whoi has more than caught the eye through a very successful first season with the Blues.

Speaking about his inclusion, Adams said: "I feel absolutely honoured to be named in the team of the year, and especially because it's voted for by your peers.

"Thanks to everyone who voted for me and I have to say a special thank you to my team mates, the gaffer and all the staff at Carlisle United because I wouldn't have had this happen without them."

PFA League Two Team of the Year - sponsored by Panini

+ Goalkeeper - Luke McCormick (Plymouth Argyle)
+ Defender - Kelvin Mellor (Blackpool)
+ Defender - Sonny Bradley (Plymouth Argyle)
+ Defender - Christian Burgess (Portsmouth)
+ Defender - Enda Stevens (Portsmouth)
+ Midfielder - Nicky Adams (Carlisle United)
+ Midfielder - Luke Berry (Cambridge United)
+ Midfielder - James Coppinger (Doncaster Rovers)
+ Midfielder - Graham Carey (Plymouth Argyle)
+ Forward - Danny Hylton (Luton Town)
+ Forward - John Marquis (Doncaster Rovers)

The PFA have announced this year’s nominees ahead of the 2017 PFA Awards, with the prestigious event to be held at the Grosvenor House, London on April 23.

The PFA Awards celebrates the best of English football in an evening attended by hundreds of current professional stars of the game, to recognise the outstanding performers in every division.

As the season draws towards its climax, the PFA Awards is a celebration of the achievement of all PFA members from the last 12 months.

In addition to the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year categories, the divisional Teams of the Year are announced for all five divisions and we honour footballing achievement through the PFA’s Merit Award.

Previous winners of the prestigious PFA Players’ Player of the Year award have included Luis Suarez, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Ryan Giggs. The current holders are Riyad Mahrez and Izzy Christiansen. 

PFA Chief Executive, Gordon Taylor OBE: “The PFA Awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football’s social calendar.

“For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers; an honour to be cherished.”

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account