Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

MEDICAL: United nominated for divisional award

14 May 2016

Club News

MEDICAL: United nominated for divisional award

14 May 2016

Medical team nominated for national award

This year will see the first divisional Medical and Science Team Award for the 2015/2016 season presented at the FMA Awards Dinner. 

And Carlisle United's medical department, headed by physiotherapist Neil Dalton alongside Lee Fearn (Fitness and Strength and Conditioning Coach) and Jordan Beech (Head Academy physio), has been nominated for the League Two award alongside Northampton Town and Bristol Rovers.

Dolly, who notched up his 1,000th appearance as United's physio this season, said: "We're obviously delighted that we've been nominated as we are up against clubs who achieved promotion this year. 

"It was a tough season, with the disruption of the floods and the distances we had to travel, but we stuck to the preparation and recovery plan we put in place last July and it has worked for us.

"We've been able to work together as a team with the manager, coaches and players and this has helped us to achieve our lowest injury rate in almost ten years. 

"I'd like to take this opportunity to thank DW Sports, here in Carlisle, for use of their facilities when we did have players on rehabilitation programmes, and Perform Better for the work they have done on the gymnasium to provide us with an excellent and high quality facility. 

"We'd also like to say thank you to the FMA for their recognition of the work we've done and good luck to the other clubs nominated for these awards."

This new award category has really caught the imagination of our Members and the wider football community since we all recognise that it is a "team" effort that goes towards the success of a Club's season long campaign.   

As a Member award there is recognition of the particular circumstances some departments may face during their season and the appreciation of their endeavours is recognised by those who understand the difficulties they may have endured. This makes the nominations, by Members who understand, all the more highly regarded. 

Congratulations to all teams that have been nominated.  The winner will be announced at the FMA Conference and Awards on 21 May 2016. 

Here is the full list of medical and science teams nominated for the FMA Team Award 2015/2016:

Premiership: West Ham FC, West Bromwich Albion FC, Leicester City FC

Championship: Burnley FC, Middlesbrough FC, Brighton & Hove Albion FC

Division One: Burton Albion FC, Barnsley FC, Millwall FC

Division Two: Northampton Town FC, Bristol Rovers FC, Carlisle United FC 

Follow the latest on Twitter: @footballmedsci 

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account