Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

FL: Groundsman of the year winners

1 May 2015

David Mitchell highly commended by FL

The Football League has announced the winners of the Groundsman of the Year Awards for Season 2014/15 in each of the three divisions.

The awards recognise the importance of the quality of pitches for professional football and acknowledge those Head Groundsmen and their staff who consistently produce the best playing surfaces in The Football League.

In the Sky Bet Championship, David Fellowes of Rotherham United wins the award having been highly commended in League 1 last time around. James Lathwell of AFC Bournemouth and Nathan Chapman of Charlton Athletic are both highly commended.

The award for Groundsman of the Year in Sky Bet League 1 this season goes to Craig Richardson for his work on the pitch of champions Bristol City at Ashton Gate, while Dale Frith of Fleetwood Town and Lee Williams of Oldham Athletic are highly commended.

In Sky Bet League 2 the top prize is awarded to Billy White at Plymouth Argyle, with David Mitchell of Carlisle United and Paul Knowles of Northampton Town both highly commended.

Sky Bet Championship
Winner: David Fellowes (Rotherham United)
Highly Commended: James Lathwell (AFC Bournemouth)
Highly Commended: Nathan Chapman (Charlton Athletic)

Sky Bet League 1
Winner: Craig Richardson (Bristol City)
Highly Commended: Dale Frith (Fleetwood Town)
Highly Commended: Lee Williams (Oldham Athletic)

Sky Bet League 2
Winner: Billy White (Plymouth Argyle)
Highly Commended: David Mitchell (Carlisle United)
Highly Commended: Paul Knowles (Northampton Town)

The Football League's Groundsman of the Year Awards are determined initially using marks from referees and away managers for each Sky Bet Football League game and are then followed by detailed pitch inspections and a review of management operations.

The visits were carried out in April by Dr Stephen Baker, Head of Sports Surface Technology at the Sports Turf Research Institute (STRI). The awards were presented to the winners by Manchester City legend Mike Summerbee.

Advertisement block