AWARDS: Family Excellence 2013

Club pick up Excellence award

The Football League Family Excellence Award winners have been announced for the 2012/13 season and Carlisle United are delighted to be receiving the accolade for a third consecutive year.

Created in 2007, the Award recognises the outstanding experience clubs provide for young fans and families at their grounds. The winners are decided by an independent assessment, using 'mystery shopper' families commissioned by The Football League, at all 72 League clubs during the 2012/13 season.

47 clubs from across all three divisions of The Football League were given the Award for 2013 - with eight clubs securing it for the sixth year running. A total of four also won the award for the first time this year.

In announcing the successful clubs, Football League Chairman Greg Clarke said: "The Football League Family Excellence Award provides clubs with a benchmark in their efforts to attract families through their gates.

"It is hugely encouraging to see so many clubs receiving the accolade, demonstrating The Football League's commitment to securing the next generation of fans."

With greater use of family areas, matchday entertainment and family pricing initiatives, the 2012/13 season has seen an increasing focus on making the experience itself more compelling.

The provision of specific pre-match information for families and first-time fans, dedicated family stadium entrances, specially trained family area receptionists, technology-supported entertainment, and a comprehensive effort to rid family areas of abusive language and anti-social behaviour, have all combined to increase the benchmark.

The judges were particularly impressed with the efforts clubs are making to engage with families through matchday entertainment, refreshment facilities and mascot activities, all ensuring they can enjoy the match in a dedicated, safe, welcoming and entertaining environment.

Clubs receiving the Award:

AFC Bournemouth
AFC Wimbledon
Aldershot Town
Birmingham City
Bolton Wanderers
Brighton and Hove Albion
Bristol City
Burton Albion
Cardiff City
Carlisle United
Charlton Athletic
Cheltenham Town
Colchester United
Crawley Town
Crystal Palace
Derby County
Doncaster Rovers
Exeter City
Huddersfield Town
Ipswich Town
Leeds United
Leicester City
Leyton Orient 
Milton Keynes Dons
Nottingham Forest
Notts County
Oldham Athletic
Oxford United
Plymouth Argyle
Rotherham United
Scunthorpe United
Sheffield United
Sheffield Wednesday
Shrewsbury Town
Tranmere Rovers
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Wycombe Wanderers
Yeovil Town

Clubs receiving the Award for the first time: Aldershot, Bolton Wanderers, Crawley Town, Sheffield Wednesday

Clubs receiving the Award for the sixth consecutive year: Cardiff City, Doncaster Rovers, Huddersfield Town, Ipswich Town, MK Dons, Shrewsbury Town, Tranmere Rovers, Yeovil Town.
Read Time: 2 mins