Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

JPT: Bye Bye round one

4 July 2013

United through to second round

Carlisle United have been handed a bye for the first round of this season's Johnstone's Paint Trophy following the announcement of the pre-draw groupings this afternoon.

The Cumbrians are one of eight teams in the northern section to be handed a passage into the second round of the competition with the draw for round one to be made on the morning of Saturday 17 August.

United went out in a penalty shoot-out against Preston here at Brunton Park last season but have enjoyed an on-off love affair with the Trophy since their first appearance at old Wembley back in 1995.

2013/14 competition and draw dates:

Round 1 - w/c 2 September 2013 (draw date Sat 17 August) 
Round 2 - w/c 7 October 2013 (draw date Sat 7 September) 
North/South Quarter Final - w/c 11 November 2013 (draw date Sat 12 October) 
North/South Semi Final - w/c 9 December 2013 (draw date Sat 16 November) 
North/South Final 1st Leg - w/c 3 February 2014* (draw following N/S Semi Finals - in house) - 
North/South Final 2nd Leg - w/c 17 February 2014*  
Final - Sunday 30 March 2014
*(actual date may vary due to live Sky selections)


Northern section – West
Accrington Stanley, Bury, Crewe, Fleetwood Town, Oldham Athletic, Port Vale, Shrewsbury Town, Tranmere Rovers

Northern section – East 
Bradford City, Burton Albion, Hartlepool United, Notts County, Scunthorpe United, Sheffield United, Walsall, Wolves

Southern section – West
Bristol City, Bristol Rovers, Cheltenham Town, Exeter City, Plymouth Argyle, Portsmouth, Torquay United, Wycombe Wanderers

Southern section – East 
AFC Wimbledon, Brentford, Colchester United, Dagenham & Redbridge, Gillingham, Leyton Orient, MK Dons, Nortahmpton Town

Teams granted round one byes:

Northern section: Carlisle United, Morecambe, Preston North End, Rochdale, Chesterfield, Mansfield Town, Rotherham United, York City

Southern section: Crawley Town, Newport County, Oxford United, Swindon Town, Coventry City, Peterborough United, Southend United, Stevenage

Advertisement block